Governor Kay Ivey touts $ 7 million in grants from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration


Motorists heading north from Mobile, Alabama, toward Montgomery reach the point where Interstate 65 becomes one-way in all lanes, Wednesday, September 15, 2004, near Stockton, Ala. Joe Cavaretta / AP Photo

Governor Kay ivey announced near $ 7 million in grants, to make Alabama roads safer. The state’s four regional traffic safety offices and the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency will use the funds to cover overtime for local police officers, sheriff’s deputies and state soldiers performing additional patrols.

It will also help provide more checkpoints during peak periods, such as summer vacations, speeding tickets, seat belt violations, and impaired driving. Funding will cover key application details like “Click it or ticket” and “Drive sober or get pulled over”.

According to Drive safely in Alabama, in 2019, 930 people were killed in 851 fatal accidents. In Alabama, a traffic accident is reported every 3 minutes and 18 seconds.

Ivey said in a Press release, “In Alabama, we fund our law enforcement community to ensure their efforts to protect our communities are sustained. These grants will go a long way in improving road safety in our state. As we head into another peak period, it will be even more important. Ensuring public safety is one of the government’s primary responsibilities and a top priority for the Ivey administration.

ADECA Director Kenneth boswell applauded the funding and the efforts to make Alabama’s roads safer.

“ADECA stands with Governor Ivey, the four highway safety offices and local law enforcement agencies helping to make Alabama’s roads safer for everyone who travels through our state.” , said Boswell.

Governor Ivey awarded the following grants:

  • $ 1.39 million to the Franklin County Commission for the North Central Alabama Highway Safety Office. The office serves the counties of Colbert, Cullman, DeKalb, Fayette, Franklin, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Jackson, Madison, Marshall, Marion, Morgan, Pickens, Walker and Winston.
  • $ 1.66 million to the town of Opelika for the East Central Alabama Highway Safety Office serving Blount, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Coosa, Elmore, Etowah, Jefferson, Lee, Macon, Randolph, St. Clair, Shelby, Talladega and Tallapoosa counties.
  • $ 1.21 million for the Southeast Alabama Regional Road Safety Office of Enterprise State Community College. The office serves the counties of Autauga, Barbour, Bibb, Bullock, Butler, Coffee, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Geneva, Henry, Houston, Lowndes, Montgomery, Pike, Russell and Tuscaloosa.
  • $ 957,369 to Mobile County Commission for the Southwest Regional Road Safety Office serving Baldwin, Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Escambia, Greene, Hale, Marengo, Mobile, Monroe, Perry counties , Sumter, Washington and Wilcox.
  • $ 1.54 million to ALEA covers overtime for State Soldiers who work overtime shifts during times and in locations where there are a high number of speeding and driving violations. Impaired.
  • $ 183,106 to the Prosecution Services Office to provide local prosecutors and local law enforcement agencies with a statewide veteran prosecutor who will provide training, education, legal research and technical assistance on road safety issues.


Comments are closed.